Tentative program for the ISPP 2019 Meeting 

Feb 14th, 2019 at Mishkenot Shaananim, Jerusalem


Throughout the meeting, each session will consist of three long (25 minutes) lectures presented by PIs and one short lecture (20 minutes) presented by research students and postdocs.


Click here to download the meeting’s abstract book


8:00-9:30 – Registration 

9:30-11:10 – Parallel sessions 

Session 1 (Big hall)

Physiology of cellular signalling

Chairs: Prof. Sivan Korenblit (Bar-Ilan University), Prof. Michal Hershfinkel (Ben-Gurion University)

Meital Oren (Weizmann Institute of Science): Dimorphic connectivity is established by sex-specific synapse pruning during development

Tami Geiger (Tel-Aviv University): Proteomic analysis of melanoma response to immunotherapy

Adi Kimchi (Weizmann Institute of Science):  The protein interaction map of programmed cell death: from basic principles to a therapeutic vision  

Eran Schmukler (Tel-Aviv University): Altered autophagy and mitochondrial dynamics in APOE4-expressing astrocytes

Session 2 (Small hall)

Environmental Stress: preconditioning and adaptive memory

Chair: Prof. Michal Horowitz (The Hebrew University)

Noam Meiri (Volcani Center): Early-life heat exposure influence resilience or vulnerability to heat stress later in life by an epigenetic mechanism

Mirit Eynan (Israel Naval Med Institute): Day night activity at the underwater environment

Oren Froy (The Hebrew University): Timing of macronutrient intake: underlying mechanisms and endocrine outcomes

Oded Rechavi and Itamar Lev (Tel-Aviv University): Transgenerational inheritance of small RNAs in C.elegans

11:10-11:30 – Coffee break

11:30-12:30 – Plenary Lecture 1 – Prof. Baruch Minke (The Hebrew University) 

Analysis of the first human loss of function mutation in TRPV1: implications on the role of TRPV1 in inflammatory pain

12:30 – 13:30 – Lunch

13:00 – 13:30 – General (business) meeting of the society members:

1) ISPP financial report and approval of changes in the bylaws.

2) Report from Prof. John Finberg, Chairman of the Inter-University Forum for Biomedical Research in Israel

13:15-14:30 – Poster sessions 

            Every poster presenter will give a 5-min oral presentation at the poster, to a committee composed of senior scientists; 3 prizes (500$, 300$, 200$) will be awarded to best posters presented by students.

14:30-16:10 – Parallel sessions

Session 3 (Big hall)

Physiology and pathophysiology of excitable tissues

Chair: Dr. Moran Rubinstein (Tel-Aviv University)

Ilya Fleidervish (Ben Gurion University): Mechanism of persistent Na+ current generation in axon initial segment of layer 5 pyramidal neurons.

Bernard Attali (Tel Aviv University): Intrinsic and synaptic homeostatic interplay triggered at different temporal scales by M-current inhibition in hippocampal neurons

Firas Mawase (Technion): Brain and music: piano-like skill learning for stroke rehabilitation

Ana Turchetti-Maia (Tel Aviv University; Moran Rubinstein lab): Visual system dysfunction in Dravet Syndrome epilepsy

Session 4 (Small hall)


Chair: Prof. Yael Yaniv (Technion)

Sivan Henis-Korenblit (Bar-Ilan University): Endo-siRNA induced inactivation of a neddylation suppressor promotes  longevity and HSF-1 activation in germline-less animals

Itamar Harel (Hebrew University): The African turquoise killifish: a model for exploring vertebrate aging and diseases in the fast lane

Mickey Scheinowitz (Tel Aviv University): Physiological effects of exercise with aging

Joachim Behar (Technion): Pacemaker from aged perspective

16:10-16:30 – Coffee break

16:30- 16:45 – Announcement of the Garty Student Prizes for best posters.

16:45 – 17:45 Magnes Plenary Lecture (Introduction: Prof. Nathan Dascal)

Prof. Annette Dolphin (University College London) 

Neuronal calcium channel trafficking and function: relevance to chronic pain